Finalists announced for coveted Scottish Cyber Awards 2019

A group of elite cyber professionals leading the way in Scotland’s fight against cyber-crime have been announced as finalists of a coveted national award scheme.

Now in its fourth year, the Scottish Cyber Awards, hosted by the Scottish Business Resilience Centre (SBRC), celebrates the very best of the country’s cyber talent, at a time when industries are battling against continually sophisticated online attacks.

Judges received a flood of applications from across the country when the 2019 awards were announced in June and have narrowed the 11 categories down to a small number of finalists.

Eamonn Keane, Chief Operating Officer for Cyber and Innovation at SBRC, and Cyber Awards judge, said: “The Scottish Cyber Awards continues to attract more and more entries every year from exceptionally talented people.

“In this very dynamic environment with the ever-increasing range of attacks on businesses, it’s imperative that we celebrate some of the unsung everyday heroes who are doing their bit to put Scotland in the spotlight as leaders in the battle against cyber-crime.”

The finalists will be celebrated during a grand ceremony at the Sheraton Hotel in Edinburgh next month, where winners of each category will be announced.

Fellow judge Mandy Haeburn-Little, Chief Executive of Business Resilience International Management (BRIM), said: This has been a truly exceptional year for cyber talent in Scotland and the judges have seen not only new and emerging talent, but also some of the previous award winners building on their successes and now entering again under new categories. We had an even higher rate of entries and some really interesting dilemmas and choices for our strongest yet suite of judges. It’s always an exhausting day but a really great one and we are so looking forward to paying tribute to that talent in November at the awards night. 

“If there was one area to pick out, it would be the very high number of entries submitted under both Outstanding Woman in Cyber and Cyber Evangelist of the Year – excellent numbers in both.”

Award categories include Best Cyber Breakthrough and Cyber Security Teacher of the Year.

Graeme Curtis, Engineering Director for Adarma, joined the judging team for the first time this year and was impressed by the standard of applicants. He said: "As a new member of the judging panel this year, it was a pleasure to work with the existing judges who, with their collective years of experience and keen eye for detecting talent, made the whole process straightforward.

“It was tremendous to see the breadth of talent represented in categories ranging from grass-roots initiatives and education, through to companies carving out their niches in Scotland and beyond.

“Of particular note was the quantity and quality of young talent who featured - this gives great hope for the future of our industry and can only be positive for maintaining and growing Scotland’s place at the forefront of cyber-security.”

The full list of finalists for the awards are:

Best Cyber Start Up



Outstanding Woman in Cyber

Emily Beeney, Morgan Stanley

Elaine McKechnie, Clydesdale Bank

Dr Jackie Riley, Glasgow Caledonian University

Best New Cyber Talent

Maria Khokhar, Seric System

Jamie O'Hare, Abertay University

Josh Fraser, Cyborn Limited

Judith King, ID Cyber Solutions Ltd

Best Cyber Breakthrough

Diddo Ltd

Edinburgh Napier University/Cyan Forensics

Barrier Networks

Collaboration with Police Scotland

ID Cyber Solutions Ltd

Young Scot

Cyber Evangelist of the Year

Toni MacKenzie and Clara O'Callaghan, Turing Testers

Basil Manoussos, Napier University

Alan Greig, Net Defence

Cyber Security Teacher of the Year

Toni Scullion, St Kentigerns Academy

Derek Harris, Douglas Ewart High School

Nicola Orr, Condorrat Primary School

Leading Light Innovation

Quorum Cyber


Edinburgh Napier University/Cyan Forensics

Best Cyber Education Programme

NCSC-Certified Undergraduate and GCHQ-Certified Postgraduate Programme in Cybersecurity

Skills Development Scotland – Discover Cyber Skills programme


Outstanding Cyber Team

Cyber Security Team - Information Services (Strathclyde University)

The Cyber Academy (Napier University)

Scottish Local Authorities Information Security Group (Renfrewshire Council)

Best Customer Experience (public vote)


Check Point Software Technologies LTD

ID Cyber Solutions

Seric Systems

As part of the awards, the public can place their vote for the ‘Best Customer Experience’ category, which is open from now until 10 October via the Scottish Cyber Awards website:

The Scottish Cyber Awards will be held on Wednesday 20 November at the Sheraton Hotel in Edinburgh.

For more information on the Scottish Cyber Awards 2019 visit

Member Log-In

Welcome to the SBRC Members Lounge, login details will be issued to members in due course.

Forgot password?